Toronto Metropolitan University's Independent Student Newspaper Since 1967

All News

2014 RSU election candidates named

By Ramisha Farooq

On Tuesday, the Ryerson Students’ Union (RSU) released the names of the candidates running for at-large and faculty positions in the upcoming school year.

The nomination period ended Jan. 22 with four out of five at-large executive positions going uncontested.

Election debates will take place Jan. 28 from 12-4 p.m. in the Tecumseh Lounge in the Student Campus Centre. Voting will commence Feb. 3 – 5.

Check out the full list of candidates:

At-Large Executive Positions

President (Contested)

Rajean Hoilett

Roble Mohamed

John Scott

VP Education (Acclaimed)

Jesse Root – YES/NO vote

VP Equity (Acclaimed)

Pascale Diverlus – YES/NO vote

VP Operations (Acclaimed)

Dora Adobea – YES/NO vote

VP Life Events (Acclaimed)

Saphi Subendran


Faculty Directors

Faculty of Arts (3)

Stephanie Stanov
Anuja Jeeva

Aisha Bartholomew

Jona Zyfi

Bianca Perry

Faculty of Business TRSM (4)

Ken Abescoro

Shayna Asgill

Muhammed Ur Rahman

Yannick Walcott

Shelly Campbell

My Nhung Le

Vladimir Bublik

Faculty of Communications and Design (3)

Amal Ahmed

Jessica Albotra

Krista Brown

Faculty of Community Services (4)

Nicole Castillo Guerrero

Daniela Glaser

Lan (Mary) Wei

Alfred Lam


Faculty of Engineering, Architecture and Science (3)

Adrian Strupp

Trona J. St Omer

Behzad Taghizadeh

Faculty of Science (1)

Raquel Farache


Graduate Executive Committee Candidates


Ali Naqvi

Deputy Chair Education

Tu Tran

Waqas Manzoor

Deputy Chair Finance

Chirag Bhatia

Michael Rososhansky

Deputy Chair Student Life

Nagina Shahasman

Leave a Reply