Photo: Devin Jones

RSU election results in split-slate executive team

In Campus News, Student PoliticsLeave a Comment

Reading Time: 2 minutes
Here is the Ryerson Student’s Union (RSU) executive committee and board of directors for the 2017-2018 school year:
The chief returning officer, Amiri Dear, has confirmed there was a tie* between faculty of engineering and architectural science candidates Macarena Soncini (Spark) and Sameer Naumani (Ohana), in the RSU elections. Both candidates received 398 votes.
Dear said there will be a statement released about the incident in the next few days.
According to the RSU elections procedures, a tie will result in a run-off election that will be held within two weeks after the initial voting closes.
Story continues below
Crowd celebrates as results come in

Photo: Keith Capstick

Executive Committee

President: Susanne Nyaga (Elevate)
Vice-president student life & events: Lauren Emberson (Spark)
Vice-president education: Daniel Lis (Spark)
Vice-president equity: Camryn Harlick (Elevate)
Vice-president operations: Ali Yousaf (Spark)


Faculty of Arts Directors

Claire Davis

Gabby Skwarko

Adam Asmar

Andrew Hight

Faculty of Business Management Directors

Maria Lionti

Kianoush Alizadeh

Shiri Gawrielman

Nick Nguyen

Nick Katrantzidis*

Mathew Catangui

Savreen Gosal

Faculty of Communications and Design Directors

Asia Aoki

Robyn Matuto

Franci Dimtrovska

Serena Kwok

Hollie Olenik

Faculty of Community Services

Chelsea Davenport

Maryan Issa

Ricky Huang

Elizabeth Bala

Johannah Brown

Faculty of Engineering and Architecture Directors

Reza Khonsari

Obaid Ullah

Youssef Helmy

Sarah Bailey

Sameer Naumani*

Macarena Soncini*

Faculty of Science Director

Nathan Fernandes

Michael Knutson

Lola Faseyi
*Clarification: This post has been updated to include Nick Katrantzidis, who was not named in the original results announcement. 

Harman Singh and Obaid Ullah stand together at the announcement

Photo: Keith Capstick

Leave a Comment